some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Before college, and I don�t know why, I thought that Virginia Woolf was from Alabama.

February 10, 2004

I need your help. I�m in a bit of trouble.

In March our staff is going to the district teacher�s convention in Massachusetts. I don�t want to go because I hate forced social situations.

I piss people off for stupid things.

-*- I don�t drink at work functions and that causes problems for people. Being �dry� is very rude. You should consume alcohol to make other people happy. If you believe that you need some help

-*- I try not to talk about politics or religion, even at church functions. I�m really not a fan of that but after being pressed I�ll open on it. It�s really stupid of me to do that but I don�t have kids and I could give a rat�s ass about college athletics so I�m not that great when it comes to trite conversation.

-*- I�m really bad about caring when people are talking to me about college sports or their kids.

BUT, that is not my problem!

My problem is that I am SINGLE and there will be single women at this event, but I don�t want to date anyone at this point in my life and I certainly don�t want to date someone who is as poor as I am and is in the same line of work that I am.

I think one of the fun things about dating, and there aren�t many of them, is finding out about someone else and if they are in the same boat I am it�s boring.

The women I work with, the ones older than my mother (which is all of them), are going to make an announcement about my singleness at this meeting. I�m horrified. I might fake sick and not go, I don�t want to go anyway but now I have a reason.

I have to do something about this. I don�t want an announcement as to my status. Think about it ladies, if someone made an announcement at a dinner like that would you think, �I want to date him!�

We made the joke at lunch today that I try not to leave Connecticut. Massachusetts? It�s so far away.

FYI � I put up a link to my friend�s diary earlier. It wasn�t so you could be a dick. It wasn�t so you could leave nasty comments about them. It�s funny that in your diary you write about how hard it is to be a member of your demographic group. How people assume things about you. How cops pull you over in your expensive car. If its really that hard to be you, why would you say something nasty to someone else? Does it make you feel better? It�s funny, and sad, that you�d write an entry about wanting to find happiness in life and how someone called you tactless, then you go and prove it by leaving a nasty comment? I think you�re nice and you�ve always been really nice to me. I really have a hard time understanding this. This seems out of character.

10:00 PM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next