some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Spritopias Blasts Moderate News Media

February 05, 2004

So I look at the news this morning and this bothers me:

The headlines always say Candidate/Politician blasts issue/current event/opponent then you read the article expecting a Death Star cabilber performance and all it ends up being is a politician expressing obvious displeasure with something. I especially like it when it�s Edwards, Kerry or Lieberman blasting Bush on something they voted for in the Senate. I wish the headline would read just once: Politicians Act as Expected or Spineless Twerps Show True Colors. Regardless of party they all do it a lot.

Then there is gay marriage and this bothers me on two fronts:

Who cares what other people do. As a conservative I�d like the government to stay out of people�s business at that level. Gay, Straight or whatever you should get married by the religious group of your choice and have your legal marriage represented by the state for purposes of dissolution because there is no good legal reason not to let gays and lesbians marry. There just isn�t.

Bush is a bad man. Bush�s opposition to gay marriage is expected but not voting for him on that shows that you�re really, very stupid if you�re voting on that alone. Lets look at the Democratic Candidates who are viable for the White House (and I�m sorry helderheid I do mean viable for the White House in the reality that we all live in) and right now it looks like you�d get Clark who is for it ( but is really a Republican � fired by Clinton for lying), Kerry who is wishy washy on it, Edwards and Dean who aren�t for it either.

Gay Marriage Rights would be a voting issue in the election if the candidates had opposite views and they really don�t at the end of the day. I still say, �let the gays marry, it doesn�t bother me.�

Voting against Bush on that issue is like this rally for Women Voters in Saint Louis before the last election where Al Gore convinced them that they should vote for him because George Bush supports the Death Penalty. That was the one issue he used; I watched the whole speech. No one asked nor mentioned Gore�s view on the Death Penalty. He�s for it. Some of those women were swayed by that and were going to vote against Bush, he�s a bad man for liking the Death Penalty.

No value judgments on your death penalty stances but if you vote without checking the candidate out yourself you�re stupid. I�m not talking about meeting them or listening to a speech, I mean researching. If you vote for someone without researching them you�re probably not voting well and I would say, �shouldn�t be allowed to.�

I think everyone should have to write a five paragraph essay to get to vote to demonstrate that they are at least moderately informed on the issues and are making a decision that was deliberated on instead of, �I think his wife is ugly.� Or, �The Republicans are for the Patriot Act that the Senator I�m supporting GUSHED about before passing.� If people stepped back and looked at things they�d be appalled.

7:21 AM :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next