some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

ruined on hostess treats

January 31, 2004
We�re having a big test on Life Science in Fourth and Fifth Grades. We�ve had three sections: plants, invertebrate animals and vertebrate animals.

To review for test we�ve been re-doing all of the diagrams from past tests and going over what the parts of the diagram are and how they work. When we were doing the parts of plants diagrams one of the fifth graders said, �Wait! Are you saying flowers have vaginas?� I did not say that flowers had vaginas, they have ovaries and I tried to explain that to him that there is a difference and even if there weren�t, there is nothing wrong with penises or vaginas. He felt differently he said, �No, every time we touch a plant we�re touching its ding-dong or ho-ho! This is just wrong!�

Again, I explained it to him. He was still unhappy about the whole situation. One of the fourth grade boys said Dude, it�s just like the book, Everybody Poops, everybody reproduces!� another fourth grader (who is my favorite student) said, �And now you�ve ruined us on Hostess Treats!� I feel bad for him and for me too.

That night, being Thursday, I was in Target getting their treats for the Kansas Day Party* and I was looking at what sweets to get them and I settled on Twinkies but you know I wanted to get Ding Dongs or Ho Hos because that would funny but then I remembered that I was the teacher. Damn.

Luckily none of them noticed that they were eating Hostess Treats considering the sex education fiasco from the day before but one of the kids was performing oral sex on his Twinkie and I had to tell him, �that either goes in your mouth or out of it, you chew that it isn�t hard candy. You�re supposed to use your teeth.� Luckily they didn�t get it but I really had just said it for Kipp anyway (I want to rule the sub-profile). It was one of of the more disturbing things I�ve seen in quiet a while.

*We celebrate Kansas Day because I am autonomous and can do what I feel like, damn it. No one can stop me�ha ha ha�

12:12 PM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next