some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

how come 'the black eye peas' can sing 'let's get retarded' and no one is offended???

January 24, 2004
Yesterday I had recess duty. The weather is cold and the play ground is iced over so we�ve been taking our recess in the gymnasium.

I was lining the kids up to go back to the classrooms when one of my students, who is working on his speech called his brother a retard, which pronounced �wetawd.� He�s able to pronounce his r�s so we encourage him to do so when he uses a, �w� instead of an, �r.� So when he said that I said, �Dude, that�s not right!� To let him know I heard what he said and that it was an appropriate thing to call his brother. He looked up at me, sighed and said, �I�m sowwy Mr. Stewawt, [brother�s name], You�re a RetaRd!�

10:00 AM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next