some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

�our days of life seem brief and death is waiting like a thief , when vision fade and dreams go dry we will on unseen things rely�

January 08, 2004
Click here to go to the entertaining entry this is more serious fare.

Today while my kids were in gym I made my weekly appearance in the Nursery (the pretentious, New England way to say �Pre-School�). I stop by and talk to the kids and listen to them tell me about their day because I sit with them in chapel and need to have at least a little bit a of a relationship with them so they�ll behave for me.

Well, there is a boy and he is the cutest child in the school. He also has Leukemia and goes in for chemotherapy. Today while I was in his classroom he pulled up his shirt and showed the teacher and I, with no warning, the shunt where they do his chemo. I about passed out. It was time for me to go anyway so I excused myself when he was done sharing with us and left the room.

I can�t think of anything so terrifying, or sickening, as the thought of losing that little boy. He�s an angel. I started crying and threw up, as par for the course I also got a nosebleed. So, after throwing up in the first floor bathroom I start bleeding all over myself and have to go pick up my kids from gym class. They asked me, �Why is your nose bleeding?� I couldn�t say, �Because Bobby�s dying and it�s distressing.� That would disturb them to no end so I told them, �The Kindergarten teacher hit me in the face.� They�re already afraid of her so it�s okay.

I have to go and reread my stuff on death and dying and how to talk to kids about it. In 2001, when two of my students died, there was professional help for that. I�m apparently that professional help this contingency.

I know this isn�t a part of God�s plan; I�m not so pedestrian as to get mad at him for this. It is just distressing to feel so helpless and useless. It's hard, at times like this, to be still in God's presence and know that He'll take care of things.

He�s an angel. You should have seen his face during the Christmas program. He was adorable beyond my ability to use words.

New Rings to Rule Them All

This page is fortified with 33% Canadian content so that Spritopias might remain a healthy choice for Greg, Jenn, and all our Canadian friends at peelersplace

Spritopias has endorsed Whatley/Plander 2016

11:19 PM :: 8 comments so far ::
prev :: next